The Soviet war in Afghanistan was a nine-year war during the Cold war fought by the Soviet Army against the Afghan Mujahideen guerrilla movement and foreign “Arab–Afghan” volunteers. The mujahideen received wide military and financial support from Pakistan also receiving direct and indirect support by the United States and China. The Afghan government fought with the intervention of the Soviet Union as its primary ally. The total irrecoverable personnel losses of the Soviet Armed Forces, frontier, and internal security troops came to 14,453. Soviet Army formations, units, and HQ elements lost 13,833, KGB sub-units lost 572, MVD formations lost 28, and other ministries and departments lost 20 men.
Photos from Afghanistan:
The SovietEraMuseum present photo works of prominent soviet photojournalists. First part: The Best photos of 1974
Lev Yashin - nicknamed as “The Black Spider”, or “The Black Panther”, was a Soviet football goalkeeper, considered by many to be the greatest goalkeeper in the history of the game. He was known for his superior athleticism in goal, imposing stature, amazing reflex saves and inventing the idea of goalkeeper sweeping. Yashin was voted the best goalkeeper of the 20th century by the IFFHS.
The SovietEraMuseum present unique photo postcards about Lev Yashin:
The SovietEraMuseum exclusive. May be we have the biggest collection of Soviet postcards at the world. This is a second part. Propaganda postcards about Soviet Red Army:
Yevgeny Anan’evich Khaldei (23 March 1917 – 6 October 1997) was a Red Army photographer, best known for his World War II photograph of a Soviet soldier Raising a flag over the Reichstag, in Berlin, capital of the vanquished Nazi Germany (1933–45).
Khaldei’s most renowned photographs were taken when he was a Red Army photographer from 1941 to 1946. Khaldei’s photographs emphasised his feelings for the historic moments and his sense of humour. haldei’s most famous photo was of a Soviet Red Army soldier raising a flag above the German Reichstag at the end of World War II: the historic defeat of Nazi Germany in a war that cost the Soviet Union twenty millions lives; the magazine Ogonjok published the photograph on 13 May 1945.
Khaldei continued to photograph, now working as a freelance photographer for Soviet newspapers, and focused on capturing the scenes of everyday life. In 1959, he got a job again at the newspaper Pravda, where he worked until he was forced to retire in 1970.
His wartime photographs were collected in a 93-page book, Ot Murmanska do Berlina (From Murmansk to Berlin), published in 1984. Khaldei’s international fame dates from the 1990s, when exhibitions of his photographs began to be held in the West.
Militsiya or militia is used as an official name of the civilian police in several former communist states.
Soviet Milicija in 1917-1967: Photos from the SovietEraMuseum archive:
Diamond Fund is a unique collection of gems, jewelry and natural nuggets, stored and exhibited in Moscow Kremlin, Russia. The Fund dates back to the Russian Crown treasury instituted by emperor Peter I of Russia in 1719.
Preservation, sales and looting of imperial treasures after the Russian Revolution of 1917 is a matter of controversy and speculation. The Imperial collection was moved from Saint Petersburg to Moscow during World War I; the Soviet Diamond Fund was officially established in 1922. The treasure was first exhibited to the public in November 1967. Originally a short-term show, in 1968 it became a permanent exhibition.
The SovietEraMuseum exclusive: The Diamond treasure of USSR:
Valenki are traditional Russian winter footwear, essentially felt boots: the name valenok literally means “made by felting”. Valenki are made of wool felt. They are not water-resistant, and are often worn with galoshes to keep water out and protect the soles from wear and tear.
Exclusive of the SovietEraMuseum. Photos from Valenki museum in Yaroslavl region:
Oleg Blokhin (b.1952) is a Soviet football player and Ukrainian football coach. He is currently a head coach of the Ukrainian national team. Blokhin was formerly a standout striker for Dynamo Kyiv and the Soviet national team. In 1975 he was named European Footballer of the Year, winning the Ballon d’Or, becoming the second Soviet and the first Ukrainian player to achieve such a feat.
The SovietEraMuseum exclusive. Rare photos with Oleg Blokhyn and Dynamo Kyiv from our archive:
The Leningrad Metro is the underground railway system in Leningrad and Leningrad Oblast. It has been open since November 15, 1955. The system exhibits many typical Soviet designs and features exquisite decorations and artwork making it one of the most attractive and elegant metros in the world. Due to the city’s unique geology, the Saint Petersburg Metro is one of the deepest subway systems in the world and the deepest by the average depth of all the stations. The system’s deepest station, Admiralteyskaya, is 105 metres below ground. Serving two and a half million passengers daily, it is also the 12th busiest subway system in the world. n 1946 ‘Lenmetroproekt’ was created, under the leadership of M A Samodurov, to finish the construction of the metro first phase. New version of the metro project, devised by specialists, identified two new solutions to the problems to be encountered during the metro construction. Firstly, stations were to be built an a level slightly raised above that of normal track so as to prevent drainage directly into them, whilst the average tunnel width was to be reduced from the 6 metre standard of the Moscow Metro to 5.5 m. On September 3, 1947, construction began again in the Leningrad subway, and finally, in December 1954 the Council of Ministers of the USSR ordered the establishment of the state transport organization ‘Leningradsky Metropoliten’; it was initially headed by Ivan Novikov. Initially, the organisation was located in the building directly above Tekhnologichesky Institut station. On October 7, 1955, the electricity was first turned on in the metro, and finally on November 5, 1955, the act by which the first stage of the metro was officially put into operation, was signed. Ten years after the end of the war, at the beginning of the post-Stalin Khrushchev Thaw, the city finally got an underground transport network. The subway grand opening was held on November 15, 1955, with the first seven stations (the eighth one, Pushkinskaya opened a few months later) being put into public use. These stations later became part of the Kirovsko-Vyborgskaya Line, initially connecting the Moscow Rail Terminal in the city centre with the Kirovsky industrial zone in the southwest. Subsequent development included lines under the Neva River in 1958, as well as the construction of the Vyborgsky Radius in the mid-1970s to reach the new housing developments in the north. In 1978, the line was extended past the city limits into the Leningrad Oblast. In total, 1,023 governmental awards were awarded to participants of the construction of the metro first stage.
Photos and sybway scheme via the SovietEraMusem: