The 1971 World Ice Hockey Championships was the 38th edition of the Ice Hockey World Championships, which also doubled as the 49th European ice hockey championships. For the ninth straight year, the Soviet Union won the world championship, although Czechoslovakia won the 49th European championship as the Czech opening loss against the Americans did not count in the European standings. Team USA was demoted to the 1972 Pool B tournament.


The 1978 Ice Hockey World Championships took place in Prague, Czechoslovakia from 26 April to 14 May. Eight teams took part, with each team playing each other once in the first round, and then the four best teams meeting in a new round. This was the 45th World Championships, and also the 56th ice hockey European Championships. The USSR won for the fifteenth time, narrowly defeating the incumbent Czechs.

On photo: Valery  Kharlamov

On photo: Vyacheslav  Fetisov

On photo: Vladimir  Petrov

On photo: Boris Mikhailov

On photo: Victor Tikhonov

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply